

Civic Arts Commission Minutes Monday, July 11, 2011

Commissioners Present:	Casey Hutchins (Chair), Nina Gatewood, Mary Anne Ingenthron, Nikhil Joshi, Carrie Whitecotton
Commissioners Absent:	Erin Jackson, Marieke DeWaard
Staff:	Carrie Dyer, Community Services Supervisor Bob Reich, Civic Arts Coordinator

1. Approval of agenda.

Action: Chair Hutchins moved and Commissioner Gatewood seconded approval of the agenda as presented. Motion approved unanimously.

2. Approval of Minutes from May 9, 2011.

Action: Chair Hutchins moved and Commissioner Joshi seconded approval of the minutes from May 9 as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

3. Public communications.

None

4. Written Communications.

A. Regular art-related publications were circulated.

5. Staff, City Council, Commission communications.

A. Staff C. Dyer provided the Commission with an update about budget reductions including elimination of the annual Arts Contracts, the Juried Art Show and the temporary part time Civic Art Coordinator position.

B. Staff C. Dyer introduced new Commissioner, Carrie Whitecotton.

C. Staff C. Dyer informed the Commission that Vice Chair Erin Jackson has moved out of town and will no longer serve on the Civic Art Commission.

D. Staff C. Dyer provided the Commission with updates on the Third Street project, the Steve Larsen Plaza project, the East Area Water Tank and the Solar Filling Station.

E. Commissioner Gatewood informed the Commission of an upcoming charity show at the Natsoulas Gallery.

- 6. Juried Art Show Review. The Commission reviewed the Juried Art Show of 2011, discussed the pros and cons of the location and the possible reasons for fewer submissions. Sixty eight entries were received. The juror chose twenty eight to be in the show.
- 7. City Arts GATEway Project. The Commission reviewed a draft RFQ for the City Arts GATEway project and determined a selection committee. The RFQ will be released, pending approval from City Council. The proposed selection committee includes:

- · City Council Liaison to Civic Art Commission Dan Wolk
- · Civic Arts Commissioners Nina Gatewood, Mary Anne Ingenthron
- Assistant Director of Horticulture, Arboretum Emily Griswold
- · Director of the Arboretum- Kathleen Socolofsky
- Campus Planning and Design Skip Mezger
- Nelson Gallery Renny Pritikin
- Director, Yolo County Visitors Bureau, Alan Humason
- · City of Davis, Staff Liaison to Civic Art Commission Carrie Dyer
- Downtown Davis representative Board Member, TBD
- · Community representative TBD

Action: Chair Hutchins moved and Commissioner Ingenthron seconded approval of the RFQ and selection committee. Motion passed unanimously.

8. Adjourn. The meeting was adjourned to the next regular meeting of September 12, 2011.

Respectfully Submitted,

Carrie Dyer Community Services Supervisor